Saturday, February 5, 2011

Why the Steelers will win the Super Bowl.

The Packers have not been behind by more than 7 points all year. The last team to do that was the 1969 Minnesota Vinkings who lost to the KC Chiefs 23-7 in Super Bowl IV. The 2005 Steelers and the 2007 Giants were the first teams to win 3 road games in the playoffs and win the Super Bowl. It is not happening 3 times in 6 years.

The final reason is more complicated and not always 100 percent but teams that were in the Super Bowl  more recently and Won (within 4 years) tend to beat teams that were not.

Super Bowls 
Green Bay won SB 1 and won SB 2
Mia won SB 6 and won SB 7
Pgh won SB 9 and won SB 10
Pgh won SB 10 and won SB 13
Oak won SB 11 and won SB 15
Dal won SB 12 and Lost SB 13
Pgh won SB 13 and won SB 14
Was won SB 17 and Lost SB 18
SF won SB 16 and Won SB 19
SF won SB 19 and Won SB 23
NYG won SB 21 and Won SB 25
Was won SB 22 and Won SB 26
SF won SB 23 and Won SB 24
Dal won SB 27 and Won SB 28
Dal won SB 28 and Won SB 30
GB won SB 31 and Lost SB 32
Den won SB 32 and Won SB 33
STL won SB 34 and Lost SB 36
NE won SB 36 and Won SB 38
NE won SB 38 and Won SB 39
NE won SB 39 and Lost SB 42
Pgh won SB 40 and Won SB 43
Ind won SB 41 and Lost SB 44

That is 17 wins for a team that won the Super Bowl in the last 4 years against 6 losses. What is worrisome for the Steelers is in the last 8 occurrances the prior SB winner is only 4 and 4.  (Incredibly only Super Bowl 13 was the only time 2 teams met who  had won the SB in previous 4 years).

No comments:

Post a Comment